Nigeria Bans Travel To India, Turkey and Brazil

The Federal Government has effected a travel ban that restricts entry to non-Nigerian passengers who have been in India, Brazil or Turkey in the last fortnight due to concerns over the surge in coronavirus and the different variants reportedly found in these countries.

Recently, India saw the highest daily tally of new SARS-CoV-2 infections ever recorded globally, with 360 960 cases, taking its pandemic total to 16 million cases, hence the federal government’s ban.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman, Presidential Task Force on Covid-19, Boss Mustapha, disclosed In a statement on Sunday, May 2, that the travel ban which will come into effect from Tuesday, May 4, does not apply to passengers who have transited through those countries.

In the statement, Mustapha advised Nigerians to suspend non-essential travels to any country for now.

“Any person who has visited Brazil, India or Turkey within14 days preceding travel to Nigeria, shall be denied entry into Nigeria. This regulation, however, does not apply to passengers who transited through these countries.

“The following measures shall apply to airlines and passengers who fail to comply with I and II(a) above: Airlines shall mandatorily pay a penalty of $3,500 for each defaulting passenger. Non-Nigerians will be denied entry and returned to the country of embarkation at the cost to the Airline

“Nigerians and those with the permanent resident permit shall undergo seven days of mandatory quarantine in a Government approved facility at the point-of-entry city and at the cost to the passenger,” he said.

Patsy Nwogu

Reporting on data-driven featured stories and investigations.

Related post