UK Approves Vaccine Certificates For 50 Countries, Excludes Nigeria

The UK government has released a list of over 50 countries with approved COVID-19 vaccination programmes and proof of vaccination for travel to England.

According to the statement on the official website, travellers from countries listed under red would not be allowed into the UK. South Africa, Angola, Burundi, Botswana, among others are listed under this category.

“Fully vaccinated residents in other countries not yet part of the inbound policy, as well as those partially vaccinated, will still have to take a pre-departure test, PCR tests for day 2 and day 8 after arrival, and self-isolate for 10 days, with the option to test to release after 5 days,” the statement read.

“The UK government is continuing to work with international partners as we seek to more regularly expand the policy to further countries and territories.”

Meanwhile, the UK government’s list of countries with approved proof of vaccination excludes Nigeria, despite officials promising to ease the restrictions on Nigerian travellers soon.

This update means that fully vaccinated Nigerians travelling to the UK would still need to self-isolate for 10 days and pay for Covid-19 tests in the UK.

The government said that the new simplified travel system meant that eligible fully vaccinated passengers and eligible under-18s returning from over 50 countries and territories, not on the red list, can do so without needing to complete a pre-departure test (PDT), a day 8 test or enter a 10-day self-isolation period, making it easier for those travelling — whether that’s to see friends and family, or on business trips.

It added that eligible fully vaccinated passengers with an approved vaccine and recognised certificate from a country not on the red list would be able to replace their day 2 test with a cheaper lateral flow test, reducing the cost of tests on arrival into England.

Grant Shapps, US transport secretary, added “We are accelerating towards a future where travel continues to reopen safely and remains open for good, and today’s rule changes are good news for families, businesses and the travel sector.

“Our priority remains to protect public health but, with more than 8 in 10 people now fully vaccinated, we can take these steps to lower the cost of testing and help the sector to continue in its recovery.

“Also from today, under-18s from the over 50 countries whose vaccination status the UK recognises will not need to present a negative PDT before travelling to England. This applies regardless of their vaccination status.”

Here is a full list of countries with approved proof of vaccination:

Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Andorra, Anguilla, Antarctica/British Antarctic Territory, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Island, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Caymen Island, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic (Czechia), Denmark, Dominica, Estonia, Falkland Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Montserrat, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, South Korea, Spain, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates (UAE), USA, Vatican City.

Patsy Nwogu

Reporting on data-driven featured stories and investigations.

Related post