Infographics: Tracking Omicron Variant

The Omicron coronavirus variant has been detected in at least 19 countries since November 24.

On Monday, the World Health Organization (WHO) warned that the global risk from the spread of Omicron was “very high” due to the multiple mutations in the variants spike protein. The organization has since urged 194 member nations to speed the delivery of vaccinations to high-risk groups.

No Omicron-linked deaths have yet been reported, though further research is needed to assess its potential to escape protection against immunity induced by vaccines and previous infections, the WHO added.

The map below highlights the countries that have reported Omicron cases as of the time of this report.

The countries/territories include:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Portugal, Reunion, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland and the United Kingdom

Patsy Nwogu

Reporting on data-driven featured stories and investigations.

Related post